Posted by: kerryl29 | December 23, 2011

Kreativ Blogger Award

Imagine my surprise when I discovered today that I was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award.  It’s always nice to receive this sort of acknowledgement, but what makes this extra special is that the nomination came from Lynn Emberg Purse, the extraordinarily talented author of the Composer in the Garden blog.  If you haven’t already had the pleasure of reading Lynn’s blog I urge you to do so immediately and indulge yourself with some truly marvelous stimuli–visual, musical, written.  You will not be sorry, I promise you.

So my sincere thanks to Lynn for the nomination.

The award comes with a set of minor obligations.

  • The Kreativ Blogger image must be displayed on the blog (see above).
  • The nominator must be acknowledged (see above)
  • The recipient must state ten things about himself that his readers probably don’t know (see below)
  • The recipient must pass the award along by nominating at least six blogs to receive the award (see even further below)

Okay, on to the “ten things”:

  1. I played baseball competitively until I was in my mid-20s, up to the semi-professional level; I also played hockey as a youth
  2. I live to see stereotypes explode
  3. I’m quite finicky when it comes to food; I’m not proud of this, but there it is
  4. I love animals, especially cats
  5. I hold an advanced degree in statistics and social science research methodology
  6. I’m non-confrontational to a fault until pushed beyond some imaginary line at which point I become…let’s just say I have a breaking point; it takes an awful, awful lot to get there but if I become convinced I’ve been wronged, duck
  7. I have a dream to conduct meaningful landscape photography in every American state and Canadian province; I’m off to a somewhat sluggish start (17 states, one province)
  8. I’ve had a standing offer to be nominated to become the United States Secretary of State since the mid-1980s; the problem is that the person who made the offer (a college classmate of mine, now a magistrate in the western part of the U.S.) has to become President first, and that seems increasingly unlikely with every passing day since…well, since the mid-1980s
  9. I’m a real extrovert (ha); my idea of a fun evening is to stay home and read a book (seriously!)
  10. If I could paint or draw to the level of my satisfaction (or had any real hope of doing so), I doubt I ever would have become serious about landscape photography

And now the six blogs I’m nominating for the Kreativ Blogger Award:

1.  The Aware Writer:  John McDevitt writes an extremely versatile blog that never fails to engage; I heartily recommend it to you.

2. Blogging Through the Wreckage:  My friend Ranjit Dighe, an economics professor at SUNY-Oswego, blogs on the American financial crisis and its aftermath (to the extent that its actually over–very much a debatable point).  He writes in an understandable way and–here’s the kicker–he actually knows what he’s talking about.  Highly recommended.

3.  351 in 365:  melfrommass is on a quest to visit all 351 municipalities in Massachusetts in a year.  Check it out–you get photos and Mel’s irreverent take on these places, all from the comfort of your own computer or handheld device.  It’s a lot of fun and, if you pay attention, you might actually (gasp) learn a thing or two.

4.  photos from the loonybin:  Cindy Taylor blogs on…well, just about everything.  Updated daily, always fresh, always with at least one photo…be sure not to miss the Mystery Photo Challenge.

5.  Third Eye:  Mahesh Patil, based in Mumbai, India, invariably has a fascinating photo (or several) as part of his blog entries.  The subject matter is incredibly variable but the level of intrigue is not–it’s always sky high.  Be certain to check it out.

6.  50 Year Project:  TBM has a blog devoted to the following project:  “This blog will be about my pursuit of visiting 192 countries, reading 1001 books, and watching the top 100 movies before I die.”  Sound ambitious?  Intrigued?  The answers should be “yes” and “yes,” so be sure to take a look.

That’s all for now.  I’m working on a more traditional entry that will be posted within the next few days.

Responses

  1. Bravo, Kerry! Can’t wait to explore the blogs of your nominees.

  2. Congratulations and Happy Christmas to you 🙂

  3. Congrats, Kerry…you deserve it with your amazing photography! Good job!

  4. Congratulations on your nomination, Kerry! It’s well deserved — I genuinely enjoy the colors and compositions of your landscapes. And thanks for the recognition, too. 🙂

  5. Speaking of stereotypes, have you ever experimented with 3-D photography?

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • No, I haven’t. Care to share?

      • In the ’70s and ’80s I did a whole lot of 3-D photography using several vintage Stereo Realist cameras. That type of camera takes two side-by-side pictures simultaneously. You can get the same effect with a regular camera and a tripod (and a non-moving subject) by taking one picture, moving the camera a few inches to the side, and taking a second picture with the same settings. I used to print a copy of each half, mount them side by side on cardboard, and have people look at each pair in an old-fashioned stereo viewer. It was lots of work, but I had fun. If the current digital 3-D cameras improve enough, I might be tempted back.

  6. I see you did win it already. Does it matter if you get nominated twice, or does that just mean your blog is really good, LOL.
    I read the 10 things about you, and number 10, I went to art school and I can draw and paint to a very satisfying level, but have chosen to give it up and go back to photography, why, because I am better at it, and I like it more.


Please feel free to comment

Categories

