Posted by: kerryl29 | April 11, 2012

Midwest Spring, Part I

My apologies to the readers of this blog for the exorbitantly long gap between posts.  I recently started taking on some freelance writing and editing work and found myself buried under commitments; I’m still trying to figure out how to manage the new workload in a manner that doesn’t undermine everything else I want and/or need to do.  More recently, I contracted some kind of nasty virus which laid me up for the better part of a week.  So, writing for this blog–and reading others–became an unfortunate casualty of all of this.  I hope to remedy the problem in the near future.

In the meantime, I did manage to get out for some photography in the spring weather that produced the earliest bloom in memory throughout most–if not all–of North America.  I’m posting  (without commentary) a few of the images I shot in central Indiana in the final 10 days of March.  Next time I’ll post some material from a shooting session in northern Illinois during the first week of April.  Enjoy.

Redbud Picnic Area, Ft. Harrison State Park, Indiana

Purple Phlox Close-up, Green's Bluff Preserve, Indiana

Bluebell Floodplain, McCormick's Creek State Park, Indiana

Rapids black & white, Ft. Harrison State Park, Indiana

Anemone and Mossy Log, Green's Bluff Preserve, Indiana

Redbud and Dogwood, McCormick's Creek State Park, Indiana

Responses

  1. Gorgeous photos, as always, Kerry. Hope you are feeling better; I’ve been feeling the time crunch too – nice to see you here again!

    • Thanks very much for the kind thoughts, Lynn.

  2. whoa … flowers everywhere 🙂

    • Yup. It’s that time of the year. 🙂

  3. Hope you’re feeling better Kerry. You manage the new workload the same way you eat an elephant sandwich — one bite at a time. No comments needed Kerry. Your images make me want to go out and shoot some color.

    • Thanks very much, John. Still working on digesting those pachyderm-sized bites.

  4. Kerry, I am sorry to hear you were so ill. Thank you for sharing this loveliness with us! ~ Lynda

    • Thanks very much for the good wishes, Lynda.

  5. love the rich greens and pink blossoms-so pretty! Time management is so much fun!Groan…

    • Thanks, Jane. Re time management…agreed!

  6. Gorgeous photos and glad to have you back!! You have been missed :). I am also finding it hard to balance work, family and hobbies, but It’s so important to have fun too. You will find your balance eventually (which may or may not include sleep LOL).

    • Thanks, Cindy. So sleep is optional? 🙂

      • Well, for some people it is, but not for me. Do you know how many nights I have fallen asleep on the couch lately? I wish I didn’t require so much sleep – maybe then I wouldn’t have so much trouble getting through all of my emails, etc. LOL

  7. I missed your being here, Kerry…very glad you’re back.

    Beautiful images again…I especially enjoy the park with the empty picnic benches…very compelling.

    Hope you’re all recovered. 🙂

    • Thanks very kindly, Scott.

      Not quite fully recovered, but getting close…

      • You’re welcome, Kerry…hope you’re soon recovered.

  8. I’ve been wondering about your hiatus and am sorry to hear that it was partly health-related but glad to hear that it’s behind you now; very good to have you back. I particularly like the anemones and the mossy log–just lovely.

    • Still feeling minimal effects of that stubborn virus, but it’s definitely on the wane.

      Agreed, the anemone/log intimate came out pretty well. The morning I was at Green’s Bluff…it was supposed to be overcast, but it was a blue sky morning (which meant a lot of harsh light) and I figured it would be largely a scouting expedition (which was essentially the case). But the area with this group of flowers and the log was in open shade at mid-morning, and the composition caught my eye.

  9. Hey Kerry!!! Glad to have you back! Super spring photos and I hope you are feeling better!

    • Thanks very much, David. I really appreciate it.

  10. Wonderful bluebells! I just saw some blooming here in Maryland/Pennsylvania border this week as well. A little earlier than usual. Good luck finding balance and not burning yourself out.

    • Thank you! More bluebells will definitely be in the offing when I post the Illinois pics from last week. I have a number of spots in Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky with terrific stands of bluebells (the McCormick’s Creek location was a new one for me), but I know of no better location than Illinois Canyon at Starved Rock State Park, just south of the tiny town of Utica, IL. I happened to hit that location right at bluebell peak late last week (just before the virus hit me). I’ll try to get those images up on the blog by the middle of next week.

  11. Anemone and Mossy Log is my fave of these, but i like ’em all

    • Thanks, Brian. I’m quite fond of that anemone/log image intimate too.

  12. Great stuff here, Kerry. Glad you’re feeling better.

    • Thanks very much, Frank.

  13. […] unprecedented early spring that I mentioned in my last post has certainly afflicted these parks.  The bluebells in the flood plain of Illinois Canyon at […]


Please feel free to comment

Categories

